Originally called "St. Joseph's Academy for Young Ladies," the private school was founded by the Sisters of St. Joseph and was located on Power Street. In 1863, the Academy was incorporated in...
In 1844, William Gamble, a miller on the Humber River and the first Reeve of Etobicoke, donated this site on the shoreline of prehistoric Lake Iroquois to the local Church of England congregation....
Born in Kingston, Mowat studied law under John A. Macdonald. After moving to Toronto in 1840, he was elected a Liberal Member of the Legislature of the Province of Canada in 1857 and served...
Opened on this site in 1912, St. Christopher House was the model for a series of Settlement Houses established by the Presbyterian Church across Canada in the early 1900s. The Centre was...
Soldier, surgeon, and scientist, Banting in 1920 became convinced of the existence of a substance now known as Insulin. A laboratory provided by Dr. J.J.R. Macleod of the University of...
Georgian Corporation's renovation of 77, 81 and 85 Front Street East is a proud moment in the company's history. The residences known as the St. Lawrence Lofts consist of three...
This log cabin, Toronto's oldest known surviving house, was constructed for John Scadding in 1794 during the first years of British settlement. Scadding was a government clerk and close friend of...
Designed by Toronto architects Strickland and Symons, this charming example of Gothic Revival church architecture was constructed for an Anglican congregation founded in 1874. Growing quickly...
The St. George's Society of Toronto, the city's oldest charity, was founded on St. George's Day, April 23, in 1834, at a meeting in the British Coffee House at King and York Streets. Named...
Designed by John Burnet Parkin, a local architect, this school with each classroom featuring project areas with sinks, large windows and slide-along curtains and exit doors to the outside, set...
These beautiful grounds, donated to the City of Toronto as a memorial park in honour of the late Joseph Kilgour, were, with the gracious consent and approval of the heirs to the Kilgour...
From the 1830's priests from downtown Toronto began to visit Leslieville, an area of market gardens and brickyards, to administer the sacraments to Catholics living in the east end of the city. In...
First established in 1892 by the Sisters of St. Joseph, the Hospital is dedicated to the care and cure of the sick within and beyond the bounds of the City of Toronto.The surrounding masonry...
St. Andrew's was begun in 1874 to serve a Church of Scotland congregation organized in 1830. An outstanding example of Romanesque Revival architecture, this massive church was designed by William...
The Soldiers' Tower is the University of Toronto's war memorial. A few months after the Armistice ended the First World War on 11 November 1918, the University of Toronto Alumni Association...
In 1817 the Rev. William Jenkins, a native of Kirriemuir, Scotland, a missionary to the Oneida Indians of New York, came to Canada in response to the plea of inhabitants of Scarborough,...
This former industrial building was constructed in phases over two decades as Standard Woollen Mills expanded its operations. The earliest portion, constructed in 1882 and distinguished by its...
In 1700, Oliver Silverthorn left Yorkshire, England for New Jersey, then went to Niagara before settling in Etobicoke. He bought 200 ha on both sides of the Etobicoke River and ran a mill. His son...
St. Anne's vibrant wall paintings make this church a place of national historic significance. They were executed in 1923 by ten Toronto artists, including J.E.H. MacDonald, F. Varley and...
Scarborough's first public library, the Scarborough subscription library, was organized at a meeting at St. Andrew's Church on April 7th, 1834, with forty-six members paying a fee of...