Read The Plaque https://readtheplaque.com Always read the plaque en-us Lincoln Transcontinental Highway https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/lincoln-transcontinental-highway https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/lincoln-transcontinental-highway 2020-06-29 04:27:41.119285 Lincoln Transcontinental Highway Lincoln Transcontinental Highway

]]>
Stoneymollan Road https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/stoneymollan-road https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/stoneymollan-road 2020-06-24 03:38:33.074929 Stoneymollan Road Stoneymollan Road

 
Stoneymollan Road

This is an old coffin road that
people used to carry their dead
to consecrated ground to be
buried. In the 19th century it
was known as the Cross Stone
Road as there was a stone
cross located at the high point
of the path though only the
base now exists. This may be
where the coffin bearers rested
before descending.

Submitted by @TweetsBennett

]]>
Nurtured by the Soil From Each State https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/nurtured-by-the-soil-from-each-state https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/nurtured-by-the-soil-from-each-state 2020-06-24 02:50:02.658380 Nurtured by the Soil From Each State Nurtured by the Soil From Each State

]]>
Valerie Carlson https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/valerie-carlson https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/valerie-carlson 2020-06-22 04:44:09.778878 Valerie Carlson Valerie Carlson

In loving memory of
Valerie Carlson
January 5, 1943 - March 24, 2018
Who helped make Corte Madera
the great town it is today
 

]]>
The Donahue Line https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-donahue-line https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-donahue-line 2020-06-22 04:43:40.107625 The Donahue Line The Donahue Line

]]>
Railroad & Ferry Depot Museum https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/railroad-ferry-depot-museum https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/railroad-ferry-depot-museum 2020-06-22 04:43:18.053270 Railroad & Ferry Depot Museum Railroad & Ferry Depot Museum

]]>
"Mike" M. Kahn https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/mike-m-kahn https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/mike-m-kahn 2020-06-22 04:43:14.779073 "Mike" M. Kahn

]]>
Ligonier Valley School District, Pennsylvania Game Commission, Road versus Rail https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/ligonier-valley-school-district-pennsylvania-game-commission-road-versus-rail https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/ligonier-valley-school-district-pennsylvania-game-commission-road-versus-rail 2020-06-21 22:36:28.357723 Ligonier Valley School District, Pennsylvania Game Commission, Road versus Rail Ligonier Valley School District, Pennsylvania Game Commission, Road versus Rail





Submitted by @askceil

]]>
Holy Trinity Parish https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/holy-trinity-parish https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/holy-trinity-parish 2020-06-21 22:28:54.016177 Holy Trinity Parish  Holy Trinity Parish

 
Submitted by @askceil

]]>
Powerful Glaciers Sculpted the Visible Landscape https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/powerful-glaciers-sculpted-the-visible-landscape https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/powerful-glaciers-sculpted-the-visible-landscape 2020-06-21 22:21:51.061631 Powerful Glaciers Sculpted the Visible Landscape Powerful Glaciers Sculpted the Visible Landscape

During the last ice age over ten thousand years ago, huge glaciers in the Sierra Nevada carved out many lakes in the land surrounding Lake Tahoe. Glaciers moved down the V-shaped canyons on Lake Tahoe’s western side, scouring away rock and creating broad U-shaped valleys. These elongated depressions – Fallen Leaf Lake, Emerald Bay, Cascade Lake and others – filled with snowmelt water.

As glaciers carved their way through the earth surface then melted, they left behind deposits of soil, rock, and gravel. These ridges of debris are called moraines, a French word meaning “rubble heap.” The long ridge directly across Fallen Leaf Lake from Angora Lookout is a lateral, or side, moraine. It was formed by the debris the glacier deposited as it moved down the Glen Alpine Valley. Angora Lookout stands on a medial moraine, formed as two lateral moraines merged under the enormous pressures of two adjacent glaciers. One glacier came down Glen Alpine Valley, the other down Tahoe Valley.

[US Forest Service logo]

[inset photo caption] Lateral Moraine

[inset painting caption] Huge glaciers moved down the V-shaped canyons of the Sierra Nevada, carving away rock and creating broad U-shaped valleys.

]]>