Read The Plaque https://readtheplaque.com Always read the plaque en-us Coliseum Theater https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/coliseum-theater https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/coliseum-theater 2020-10-26 03:56:35.512323 Coliseum Theater Coliseum Theater




Submitted by @pkmonaghan

]]>
Tennessee State Capitol https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/tennessee-state-capitol https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/tennessee-state-capitol 2020-10-26 03:55:22.954799 Tennessee State Capitol Tennessee State Capitol

]]>
Atascadero Administration Building https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/atascadero-administration-building https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/atascadero-administration-building 2020-10-26 03:54:31.400418 Atascadero Administration Building Atascadero Administration Building





Submitted by @jqmcd

]]>
Jose Dolores Garcia https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/jose-dolores-garcia https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/jose-dolores-garcia 2020-10-26 03:53:13.383983 Jose Dolores Garcia Jose Dolores Garcia


JOSE DOLORES GARCIA
Jose Dolores Garcia was a prominent
citizen of San Juan Capistrano who was
of Juaneno Indian and Spanish descent.
In 1862 he married Maria Refugia Yorba
at the Mission. He promised her a new
and unique house. After extensive
research on horseback in the Anaheim
area, he built this Victorian-style house
around 1870. Here they lived happily
until his untimely death in 1897. His
grieving widow then sold the home.
PRESENTED BY
The Nieblas Family and Friends
San Juan Capistrano Historical Society

]]>
Hunter Mill Road - Crossroads to War https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/hunter-mill-road-crossroads-to-war https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/hunter-mill-road-crossroads-to-war 2020-10-26 03:52:47.481921 Hunter Mill Road - Crossroads to War Hunter Mill Road - Crossroads to War

T 46-B
CROSSROADS TO WAR
During the Civil War, this junction of Hunter
Mill Road and the Alexandria, Loudoun, &
Hampshire Railroad was a vital crossroads as
Union and Confederate troops moved along the
tracks between Vienna and Leesburg. In Sept,
1862, the Confederate Brig. Gen. Wade Hampton's
cavalry brigade passed here on route to 
Maryland during the Antietam campaign. Traveling
on the way to Pennsylvania on 17 June 1863,
part of the Union's Army of the Potomac
bivouacked just north of here, followed by the
army's commander, Maj. Gen. Joseph Hooker, on 26
June. The next day, Confederate Maj. Gen. J.E.B.
Stuart also passed here en route to Gettysburg.

Submitted by Patrick M. Ryan, imageryan@gmail.com

]]>
Hurricane Gustav https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/hurricane-gustav https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/hurricane-gustav 2020-10-26 03:52:10.098170 Hurricane Gustav Hurricane Gustav

Hurricane Gustav roared through Baton Rouge on September 1, 2008. Traffic on the Mississippi River was shut down. Ninety-mile per hour winds uprooted thousands of mature oak trees. Houses were split in two. Power transformers were destroyed.  
The force of Gustav's winds blew through a one-inch crack in the sliding door and ripped this hole in the east wall.   
We've preserved this breach to expose the Old State Capitol's bones, and give visitors a look at the original construction

]]>
On September 21, 1779 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/on-september-21-1779 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/on-september-21-1779 2020-10-26 03:52:05.398474 On September 21, 1779 On September 21, 1779

On September 21, 1779
Col. Dickson commanding the
British post at Baton Rouge
Surrendered to
Gov. Galvez and his American Allies.

This tablet commemorates this
One battle of the
American Revolution
On Louisiana soil
And is placed here
By The Louisiana Society of the
Daughters of the Revolution.

]]>
John P Holland's First Submarine https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/john-p-holland-s-first-submarine https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/john-p-holland-s-first-submarine 2020-10-25 03:59:08.115384 John P Holland's First Submarine John P Holland's First Submarine

]]>
Grafton Park https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/grafton-park2 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/grafton-park2 2020-10-25 03:58:02.240962 Grafton Park Grafton Park

]]>
North Shore Beach & Yacht Club 1958 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/north-shore-beach-yacht-club-1958 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/north-shore-beach-yacht-club-1958 2020-10-25 03:55:50.472901 North Shore Beach & Yacht Club 1958 North Shore Beach & Yacht Club 1958




Submitted by @jqmcd
THIS PROPERTY HAS BEEN
LISTED IN THE
NATIONAL REGISTER
OF HISTORIC PLACES
BY THE UNITED STATES
DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR
NORTH SHORE BEACH & YACHT CLUB 1958
DESIGNED BY ARCHITECT ALBERT FREY, THE BUILDING RESEMBLES
A SHIP WITH ITS CURVED PROW, SECOND-STORY "BRIDGE,
PORTHOLE WINDOWS, PIPE RAILINGS, AND CENTRAL MAST.
FREY'S SIGNATURE STYLE IS EVIDENT IN HIS USE OF
SAND-COLORED CONCRETE BLOCK, CORRUGATED METAL, AND
YELLOW FIBERGLASS PANELS. IT IS A MODERN MASTERPIECE
FOR THE "GLAMOUR CAPITAL OF THE SALTON SEA."

]]>