Read The Plaque https://readtheplaque.com Always read the plaque en-us The World’s First Nuclear Reactor https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-world-s-first-nuclear-reactor https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-world-s-first-nuclear-reactor 2020-02-27 05:41:17.176067 The World’s First Nuclear Reactor The World’s First Nuclear Reactor

The World’s First Nuclear Reactor was rebuilt at this site in 1943 after initial operation The University of Chicago.
This reactor (CP-2) and the first heavy water moderated reactor (CP-3) were major facilities around which developed The Argonne National Laboratory.
This site was released by the laboratory in 1956 and the US Atomic Energy then buried the reactors here.
Submitted by: L Sapp

]]>
Napa Valley College North Gym https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/napa-valley-college-north-gym https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/napa-valley-college-north-gym 2020-02-24 05:25:27.170533 Napa Valley College North Gym Napa Valley College North Gym

]]>
First A.M.E. Church of Oakland https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/first-a-m-e-church-of-oakland https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/first-a-m-e-church-of-oakland 2020-02-22 05:13:36.801506 First A.M.E. Church of Oakland First A.M.E. Church of Oakland

]]>
Charles Goodnight, Rancher and Trailblazer https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/charles-goodnight-rancher-and-trailblazer https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/charles-goodnight-rancher-and-trailblazer 2020-02-22 05:12:55.773989 Charles Goodnight, Rancher and Trailblazer Charles Goodnight, Rancher and Trailblazer

Born in Illinois, Charles Goodnight (1836-1929) was brought to Milam County, Texas, as a child. He grew up on the frontier, becoming a ranger and Indian scout. During the Civil War, he served as a scout and guide in a frontier regiment. In 1865 Goodnight and his partner, Oliver Loving, decided to sell their cattle in New Mexico rather than on the Texas market, which was depressed following the war. The trail they blazed from Fort Belknap, Texas, to Fort Sumner, New Mexico, became one of the most widely used cattle trails in the West, famed as the Goodnight-Loving Trail. Goodnight later extended the trail to Grenada, Colorado; it became the Goodnight Trail. In 1877, he and John Adair established the JA Ranch, also known as the Goodnight Ranch, in the Panhandle. In time, they ran 100,000 cattle on a million acres. Among Goodnight’s accomplishments as a rancher and founder of the Panhandle Stockmen’s Association was the introduction of Hereford bulls and the development of “cattalo” — a cross between the buffalo and Polled Angus cattle. 

@danbrekke

]]>
Parking Facility No. 2 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/parking-facility-no-2 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/parking-facility-no-2 2020-02-20 23:42:20.099804 Parking Facility No. 2 Parking Facility No. 2

PARKING
FACILITY No.2
GROUNDBREAKING
FEBRUARY 14, 1989
RICHARD DODDERIDGE, CHAIRMAN
KANSAS BOARD OF REGENTS
GENE A. BUDIG, CHANCELLOR.
THE UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS

Submitted by @ctsinclair

]]>
Coyote Dentures https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/coyote-dentures https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/coyote-dentures 2020-02-18 05:37:22.157752 Coyote Dentures Coyote Dentures

]]>
1796 Nathan Beman Homestead https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/1796-nathan-beman-homestead https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/1796-nathan-beman-homestead 2020-02-18 05:36:54.586577 1796 Nathan Beman Homestead 1796 Nathan Beman Homestead

1796
Nathan Beman Homestead
On this site
Constructed a log cabin
Remains of foundation
and chimney are seen.
Chateaugay
Historical Soc.


Submitted by Alan R. Reno

]]>
The Great Star Fleet https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-great-star-fleet https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-great-star-fleet 2020-02-17 05:01:30.527172 The Great Star Fleet The Great Star Fleet

]]>
Hyde Street Pier Was Part of Highway 101 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/hyde-street-pier-was-part-of-highway-101 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/hyde-street-pier-was-part-of-highway-101 2020-02-17 05:01:14.307129 Hyde Street Pier Was Part of Highway 101 Hyde Street Pier Was Part of Highway 101

]]>
Scow Schooner Alma https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/scow-schooner-alma https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/scow-schooner-alma 2020-02-17 04:59:05.987034 Scow Schooner Alma Scow Schooner Alma

]]>