Read The Plaque https://readtheplaque.com Always read the plaque en-us The Marston Drop https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-marston-drop https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-marston-drop 2021-09-22 18:21:00.813647 The Marston Drop The Marston Drop

From IG post

]]>
Here Stood The Mansion of Governor Thomas Hutchinson Built About 1687 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/here-stood-the-mansion-of-governor-thomas-hutchinson-built-about-1687 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/here-stood-the-mansion-of-governor-thomas-hutchinson-built-about-1687 2021-09-22 18:19:45.936877 Here Stood The Mansion of Governor Thomas Hutchinson Built About 1687 Here Stood The Mansion of Governor Thomas Hutchinson Built About 1687


Submitted by @RNewengland

]]>
The Chocorua Legend https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-chocorua-legend https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-chocorua-legend 2021-09-22 18:18:12.492508 The Chocorua Legend The Chocorua Legend

]]>
James A. Hyter, "Ol' Man River" https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/james-a-hyter-ol-man-river https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/james-a-hyter-ol-man-river 2021-09-22 18:16:23.963660 James A. Hyter, "Ol' Man River" James A. Hyter,

Born in Athens, Alabama, on February 2, 1922, James Alfred Hyter moved to Memphis with his family when he was one week old. From 1978 to 1998, he sang "Ol Man River" in his deep, resonant voice at the annual Memphis-in-May Sunset Symphony Orchestra. He was accompanied by the Memphis Symphony Orchestra, conducted first by Vincent de Frank and from 1984 by Alan Balter. At this picturesque site on the mighty Mississippi, tens of thousands of fans clamored for encore after encore. However, Hyter's contribution to Memphis was much more than a song, because his stirring performances brought diverse people together in common celebration of life on the Mississippi River.

Submitted from the Shelby County Register's Office.

]]>
Former Site of Eureka Lodgings Residence Emperor Norton https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/former-site-of-eureka-lodgings-residence-emperor-norton https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/former-site-of-eureka-lodgings-residence-emperor-norton 2021-09-22 18:14:11.626478 Former Site of Eureka Lodgings Residence Emperor Norton Former Site of Eureka Lodgings Residence Emperor Norton

]]>
Juan Bautista de Anza National Historic Trail Campsite #76 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/juan-bautista-de-anza-national-historic-trail-campsite-76 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/juan-bautista-de-anza-national-historic-trail-campsite-76 2021-09-22 18:12:43.311209 Juan Bautista de Anza National Historic Trail Campsite #76 Juan Bautista de Anza National Historic Trail Campsite #76



Submitted by @oranv

]]>
Mechanics' Union of Trade Association https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/mechanics-union-of-trade-association https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/mechanics-union-of-trade-association 2021-09-22 17:54:39.833655 Mechanics' Union of Trade Association Mechanics' Union of Trade Association

]]>
Carmack's Pledge to the South https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/carmack-s-pledge-to-the-south https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/carmack-s-pledge-to-the-south 2021-09-22 17:52:40.001712 Carmack's Pledge to the South Carmack's Pledge to the South


CARMACK'S
PLEDGE TO THE SOUTH

THE SOUTH IS A LAND THAT HAS KNOWN
SORROWS: IT IS A LAND THAT HAS
BROKEN THE ASHEN CRUST AND
MOISTENED IT WITH TEARS: A LAND
SCARRED AND RIVEN BY THE PLOWSHARE
OF WAR AND BILLOWED WITH THE GRAVES
OF HER DEAD, BUT A LAND OF LEGEND.
A LAND OF SONG, A LAND OF HALLOWED
AND HEROIC MEMORIES.
TO THAT LAND EVERY DROP OF MY BLOOD,
EVERY FIBRE OF MY BEING, EVERY PULS-
ATION OF MY HEART, IS CONSECRATED
FOREVER,
I WAS BORN OF HER WOMB: I WAS
WHEN
MY LAST HOUR SHALL COME I PRAY
UPON
SLEEP
NURTURED AT HER BREAST: AND
GOD THAT I MAY BE PILLOWED
ROCKED TO
HER BOSOM AND
WITHIN HER TENDER
ARMS.
AND
ENCIRCLING
THIS TABLET PLACED HERE BY THE WCT.U

]]>
Rhodes Workers Killed and Injured at Work https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/rhodes-workers-killed-and-injured-at-work https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/rhodes-workers-killed-and-injured-at-work 2021-09-22 17:50:59.132354 Rhodes Workers Killed and Injured at Work Rhodes Workers Killed and Injured at Work


In remembrance of all those workers in
Rhodes tragically killed and injured at work from
accidents and exposure to chemicals and asbestos.

[Location approximate]

Submitted by kevintsien

]]>
Portsmouth Black Heritage Trail: Negro Pews https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/portsmouth-black-heritage-trail-negro-pews https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/portsmouth-black-heritage-trail-negro-pews 2021-09-22 16:32:05.050367 Portsmouth Black Heritage Trail: Negro Pews Portsmouth Black Heritage Trail: Negro Pews

]]>