Read The Plaque https://readtheplaque.com Always read the plaque en-us Trans Canada Trail Inuvik https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/trans-canada-trail-inuvik https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/trans-canada-trail-inuvik 2019-05-19 04:51:29.651001 Trans Canada Trail Inuvik Trans Canada Trail Inuvik

The Trans Canada Trail, the longest recreational trail in the world, was initiated in 1992 as a lasting legacy of Canada's 125th birthday celebration. The Trans Canada Trail Foundation is a non-profit, charitable endeavour of love and commitment to a great vision of bonding Canadians together from coast to coast to coast. These are the names of those who contributed and those whose family, friends or employers donated funds on their behalf for this part of the Trail..... The Trans Canada Trail is for all Canadians to enjoy  and share with all peoples of the wold who respect and love nature.

Submitted by Paul Mackey.

]]>
MISSION SAN LUIS OBISPO DE TOLOSA https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/mission-san-luis-obispo-de-tolosa https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/mission-san-luis-obispo-de-tolosa 2019-05-19 04:49:10.057760 MISSION SAN LUIS OBISPO DE TOLOSA MISSION SAN LUIS OBISPO DE TOLOSA

MISSION SAN LUIS OBISPO DE TOLOSA
 
A Spanish mission founded by Fray Juníper Serra,
O.F.M., first President of the California missions,
this was the fifth in a chain of 21 missions stretch-
ing from San Diego to Sonoma. Built by the Chumash
Indians living in the area, its combination of belfry
and vestibule is unique among California missions.
In 1846 John C. Fremont and his California battalion
quartered here while engaged in the war with Mexico. 
 
CALIFORNIA REGISTERED HISTORICAL
LANDMARK NO. 325
 
Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and
Recreation in cooperation with the California Historical
Landmarks Advisory Committee, the San Luis Obispo County 
Historical Society, and the Native Sons and Daughters of the Golden
West, parlors No. 290 and 108, May 15, 1966. 

Submitted by John Bradley JEB

]]>
Beach Chalet Soccer Fields https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/beach-chalet-soccer-fields https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/beach-chalet-soccer-fields 2019-05-19 04:49:00.146796 Beach Chalet Soccer Fields Beach Chalet Soccer Fields

]]>
Levittown Original House https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/levittown-original-house https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/levittown-original-house 2019-05-17 19:04:46.128984 Levittown Original House Levittown Original House

Weber House: Circa 1947
This Cape Cod style home was the 70th [last remaining in original condition] house built in 1947 by Levitt & Sons builders, in the community that has come to be known as Levittown. 

]]>
Air Mail Pioneers Checkerboard Field Maywood IL https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/air-mail-pioneers-checkerboard-field-maywood-il https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/air-mail-pioneers-checkerboard-field-maywood-il 2019-05-14 22:20:19.971385 Air Mail Pioneers Checkerboard Field Maywood IL Air Mail Pioneers  Checkerboard Field  Maywood IL

]]>
Farr Brothers https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/farr-brothers https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/farr-brothers 2019-05-13 23:10:51.335063 Farr Brothers Farr Brothers

Submitted by Ben Becker

]]>
Summerwind Jewlers https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/summerwind-jewlers https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/summerwind-jewlers 2019-05-13 23:10:29.278680 Summerwind Jewlers Summerwind Jewlers

Submitted by Ben Becker.

]]>
Obadiah Morse & Elizabeth Rawlins https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/obadiah-morse-elizabeth-rawlins https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/obadiah-morse-elizabeth-rawlins 2019-05-13 23:10:24.302946 Obadiah Morse & Elizabeth Rawlins Obadiah Morse & Elizabeth Rawlins

Submitted by Ben Becker.

]]>
Providence Baptist Church https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/providence-baptist-church2 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/providence-baptist-church2 2019-05-13 23:04:29.419366 Providence Baptist Church Providence Baptist Church

This small rural church was organized in 1868 by John A. Fuller with about twelve members. Early worship services were held at the Methodist church building and in local schoolhouse. Joseph Givens, for whom the surrounding community was named, donated the land at this site for church use, and the first permanent sanctuary consisting of one large room, was constructed in 1870. Summer revivals were held outdoors under a brush arbor. For nearly one hundred years, baptisms were held in local ponds and cotton gin pools.

]]>
Riding the Rails https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/riding-the-rails https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/riding-the-rails 2019-05-13 23:02:59.765258 Riding the Rails Riding the Rails


Submitted by @robertdall

]]>