Read The Plaque http://read-the-plaque.appspot.com Always read the plaque en-us Great Cambridge Junction http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/great-cambridge-junction http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/great-cambridge-junction 2017-07-21 17:09:59.840780 Great Cambridge Junction Great Cambridge Junction

GREAT CAMBRIDGE JUNCTION 

THIS PLAQUE COMMEMORATES 
THE NAMING OF THIS TRUNK ROAD IMPROVEMENT [illegible] 
MICHAEL PORTILLO MP 
MINISTER FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND INNER CITES 
ON 27th JULY 1990 
ON BEHALF OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT

@alistaircoleman @YPLAC This one too https://t.co/11JxRwCgO3 Tweet

Submitted by @Jemmychew

]]>
Oakley Store http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/oakley-store http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/oakley-store 2017-07-21 16:57:06.383120 Oakley Store Oakley Store

S.A. Oakley established his mercantile and grocery store here in 1938. Oakley sold hardware, canned goods, feed, kerosene and candy. After Oakley's death in 1941, his son Minor Oakley, operated the business until it was sold in 1952. Source: A Walking Tour of the Old Germantown District

Submitted from the Shelby County Register's Office.

]]>
Collierville Fort/Stockade http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/collierville-fort-stockade http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/collierville-fort-stockade 2017-07-21 16:55:46.311580 Collierville Fort/Stockade Collierville Fort/Stockade

Collierville was occupied by Union forces from 1862 until the end of the war in 1865.

Submitted from the Shelby County Register's Office.

]]>
Barken Elieser http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/barken-elieser http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/barken-elieser 2017-07-21 16:45:23.188760 Barken Elieser Barken Elieser

BARKEN ELIESER 

Der Norske Misjonsselskaps misjonsskip 
ELIESER av Bergen ble bygget ved Jacob 
Trumpys Verk her pa Bradbenken. 

Det var Louise Olsen (1817-1872) som 
tok initiative til innsamling og bygging 
av misjonsskipet. 

Den 23. mai 1864 ble ELIESER sjosatt og 
gikk i fraktfart med misjonaerer og 
handelsvarer til Sor-Afrika og 
Madagaskar frem til den ble solgt i 
1864.

 

Submitted by Erin Wilson

]]>
United Nations Plaza http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/united-nations-plaza2 http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/united-nations-plaza2 2017-07-21 16:40:11.344190 United Nations Plaza United Nations Plaza

UNITED NATIONS PLAZA 
UNITED NATIONS CHARTER
WORLD ENVIRONMENT DAY 2005 
ACCESSIBLE FORMAT AVAILABLE 
SAN FRANCISCO MAIN LIBRARY 
(415) 557-4400

]]>
First Vessels Direct from Europe to Chicago http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/first-vessels-direct-from-europe-to-chicago http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/first-vessels-direct-from-europe-to-chicago 2017-07-21 16:38:00.253760 First Vessels Direct from Europe to Chicago First Vessels Direct from Europe to Chicago

HERFRA DIREKTE TIL CHICAGO SEILTE DISSE 
SKUTENE SOM APNET EUROPEISK TRAFIKK 
PA LANKENE. 

SKONNERTBRIGG SLEIPNER 150 REGISTER-
TONN DROB 23 MAI 1862 EMIGRANTER 
OG LAST. 

JAKT SKJOLDMOEN 55 REGISTERTONN MED 
6 MANN OG LAST 12 APRIL 1863. 

FIRST VESSELS DIRECT 
FROM EUROPE TO CHICAGO 

DETTE MINNE    REIST 1963 

 

 

REIST SCSA I MONTREAL CANADA 1964 

THIS MEMORIAL IS ALSO ERECTED IN 
MONTREAL CANADA 1984

 

Submitted by Erin Wilson

]]>
Camp Henry C. Drewes http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/camp-henry-c-drewes http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/camp-henry-c-drewes 2017-07-21 16:30:35.992740 Camp Henry C. Drewes Camp Henry C. Drewes

JANUARY, 1944
THE SECOND AM TRAC BN., U.S. MARINES, 
ESTABLISHED CAMP HENRY C. DREWES 
ON THIS SITE; HERE THEY TRAINED 
UNTIL MAY, 1944 

HERE WE RESTED FROM BATTLE... PREPARED 
FOR ANOTHER... AND PRAYED FOR PEACE. 

2ND AM TRAC BN. WWII ASSN.,
"THE ALLIGATOR MARINES" 

1991

]]>
Here Worshiped George Washington http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/here-worshiped-george-washington http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/here-worshiped-george-washington 2017-07-20 20:02:11.099740 Here Worshiped George Washington Here Worshiped George Washington

]]>
Trethewey Airfield http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/trethewey-airfield http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/trethewey-airfield 2017-07-19 20:10:52.122360 Trethewey Airfield Trethewey Airfield

]]>
William Walker http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/william-walker http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/william-walker 2017-07-19 20:04:56.420010 William Walker William Walker

WILLIAM WALKER 
"Grey-eyed Man of Destiny" 

Born May 8, 1824, Walker moved to
this site from 6th Ave. N. in 1840.
In early life he was a doctor, lawyer
& journalist. He invaded Mexico in
1853 with 46 men & proclaimed him-
self Pres., Republic of Lower Calif.
Led force into Nicaragua in 1855;
was elected its Pres. in 1856. In
attempt to wage war with Honduras was
captured & executed Sept. 12, 1860.

Submitted by MollydeAguiar

]]>