Read The Plaque http://read-the-plaque.appspot.com Always read the plaque en-us Lake Archer http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/lake-archer http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/lake-archer 2017-02-24 18:41:50.698250 Lake Archer Lake Archer

LAKE ARCHER 
THIS ONE ACRE POND 
WAS ORIGINALLY CONSTRUCTED IN MEMORY OF 
ARCHER ROSENTHAL 
IN 1908 

THIS POND WAS RECONSTRUCTED IN 1961 BY 
THE STUDENT BODY OF DELAWARE VALLEY COLLEGE 
CLASSES OF 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964


Submitted by @barnhq

]]>
City Lands Sold http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/city-lands-sold http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/city-lands-sold 2017-02-24 15:59:39.438750 City Lands Sold City Lands Sold

1859 

City Lands Sold 

David Jacks acquired 30,000 acres of City of 
Monterey lands for $1,002.50 and became the most 
prosperous land baron in the city's history. He was 
immortalized not with a statues, but through Jacks 
Peak, Jacks Park and Monterey Jack Cheese.

A dissenting opinion from the Monterey County Historical Museum.

]]>
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/lake-manyara-serena-lodge http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/lake-manyara-serena-lodge 2017-02-24 15:51:35.614880 Lake Manyara Serena Lodge Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

LAKE MANYARA SERENA LODGE 
WAS OFFICIALLY OPENED BY 
THE PRESIDENT 
OF THE UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA 
HIS EXCELLENCY BENJAMIN WILLIAM MKAPA 
IN THE PRESENCE OF 
HIS HIGHNESS PRINCE KARIM AGA KAHN
ON 18TH JUNE 1996

[Location approximate]

]]>
Michael Grzimek http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/michael-grzimek http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/michael-grzimek 2017-02-24 15:49:04.290730 Michael Grzimek Michael Grzimek

MICHAEL GRZIMEK 
12 . 4. 1934  -- 10 . 1. 1959
HE GAVE ALL HE POSSESSED 
INCLUDING HIS LIVE 
FOR THE WILD ANIMALS OF AFRICA 

PROFESSOR BERNHARD GRZIMEK 
1909 - 1986 
A LIFETIME OF CARING 
FOR WILD ANIMALS 
AND THEIR PLACE ON OUR PLANET 
IT IS BETTER TO LIGHT A CANDLE 
THAN TO CURSE THE DARKNESS

[Location approximate]

Submitted by Sheila Paske

 

]]>
Early Protestant Preaching http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/early-protestant-preaching http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/early-protestant-preaching 2017-02-23 21:44:36.820140 Early Protestant Preaching Early Protestant Preaching

EARLY PROTESTANT PREACHING 

THE REV. WILLIAM STEVENSON (OCT. 4, 1768 - MARCH 5, 1857) A 
MISSOURIAN, FRIEND OF STEPHEN F. AUSTIN, PREACHED 
IN 1815 AT PECAN POINT ON THE RED RIVER, NORTH 
OF HERE. RECORDS INDICATE THAT HIS WERE THE 
FIRST PRTESTANT SERMONS EVER GIVEN IN TEXAS, 
THEN PART OF CATHOLIC "NEW SPAIN". MANY SETTLERS 
ALSO ENTERED TEXAS THROUGH RED RIVER COUNTY.

Rest stop bathroom mosaic & historical marker.



Submitted by @pkmonaghan

]]>
Gilbert Historical Museum and Elementary School http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/gilbert-historical-museum-and-elementary-school http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/gilbert-historical-museum-and-elementary-school 2017-02-23 21:39:25.502540 Gilbert Historical Museum and Elementary School Gilbert Historical Museum and Elementary School

@readtheplaque at 10 S. Gilbert Rd, Gilbert AZ... https://t.co/eYrFb735x8 Tweet




Submitted by @jqmcd

]]>
Gilbert Volunteeers http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/gilbert-volunteeers http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/gilbert-volunteeers 2017-02-23 21:37:44.463470 Gilbert Volunteeers Gilbert Volunteeers

@readtheplaque also at 10 S. Gilbert Rd, Gilbert AZ: https://t.co/zaUZUpZdyf Tweet



Submitted by @jqmcd

]]>
Fossil Reef http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/fossil-reef http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/fossil-reef 2017-02-23 21:34:39.406160 Fossil Reef Fossil Reef

FOSSIL REEF

Before you are the white limestone remains of an 18,000,000 year
old tropical shell reef. Formed in a shallow bay. It contains fossils
of scallops, clams, and tube worms. Mudstones of the same age, found
nearby, held fossil whales and shark teeth. Later, as the Santa Ana
Mountains rose, the rigid limestone buckled and broke along small
faults. We can now see evidence that tropical seas once covered
the spot where you stand.

 

]]>
Athena Parthenos http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/athena-parthenos http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/athena-parthenos 2017-02-23 21:31:24.850400 Athena Parthenos Athena Parthenos

ATHENA PARTHENOS 

ALAN LEQUIRE, SCULPTOR 

 

THE PARTHENON IN ATHENS, GREECE, WAS BUILT IN THE 5TH 
CENTURY B.C. TO HOUSE THE 42-FOOT TALL STATUE OF ATHENA,
GODDESS OF WISDOM AND BENEVOLENT PROTECTOR OF ATHENS. 
THE HUGE STATUE WAS SCULPTED BY PHIDIAS OF IVORY AND GOLD.

 

NASHVILLE’S PARTHENON, THE WORLD’S ONLY FULL SCALE REPLICA
OF THE ORIGINAL, EXISTED FOR 93 YEARS WITHOUT THE CENTRAL
FIGURE OF ATHENA.  ON MAY 20, 1990, NASHVILLE’S ATHENA
PARTHENOS WAS UNVEILED.

 

THIS STATUE WAS MADE POSSIBLE THROUGH THE EFFORTS OF THE
CITIZENS OF NASHVILLE AND THE WORLD WHO CONTRIBUTED
GENEROUSLY TO THE ATHENA FUND FOUNDATION UNDER THE
GUIDANCE AND LEADERSHIP OF ANNE FRIEDRICH ROOS, FOUNDER.

 

METROPOLITAN BOARD OF PARKS AND RECREATION

JAMES H. FYKE, DIRECTOR

]]>
Unidentified Mount Vernon Slave Graves http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/unidentified-mount-vernon-slave-graves http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/unidentified-mount-vernon-slave-graves 2017-02-23 03:50:44.497840 Unidentified Mount Vernon Slave Graves Unidentified Mount Vernon Slave Graves

IN MEMORY 
OF THE 
MANY FAITHFUL 
COLORED SERVANTS 
OF THE 
WASHINGTON FAMILY 
BURIED AT 
MOUNT VERNON 
FROM 1760 TO 1860 

THEIR UNIDENTIFIED GRAVES 
SURROUND THIS SPOT

1929


Submitted by @owillis

]]>