Read The Plaque http://read-the-plaque.appspot.com Always read the plaque en-us City Fields Foundation http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/city-fields-foundation http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/city-fields-foundation 2017-09-23 20:17:34.012290 City Fields Foundation City Fields Foundation

Dedicated to the youth of San Francisco, 
So you always have a place to play.

City Fields Foundation 
Fisher Family 
San Francisco Recreation and Parks

2015

Submitted by Darren Platt.

]]>
We Are Here http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/we-are-here2 http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/we-are-here2 2017-09-23 20:08:59.518650 We Are Here We Are Here

]]>
Carmel Heritage: Mission Ranch http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/carmel-heritage-mission-ranch http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/carmel-heritage-mission-ranch 2017-09-23 20:07:19.815430 Carmel Heritage: Mission Ranch Carmel Heritage: Mission Ranch

]]>
Baseball http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/baseball http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/baseball 2017-09-23 20:06:40.279690 Baseball Baseball

Baseball came to Memphis in 1885, but didn't last long because city law prevented games from being played on Sundays. Scores were transmitted to local cigar stores and hotel lobbies by telegraph.

Submitted from the Shelby County Register's Office.

]]>
The Heritage Courtyard http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-heritage-courtyard http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-heritage-courtyard 2017-09-23 03:09:14.244140 The Heritage Courtyard The Heritage Courtyard

This plaque recognizes the large oak trees that have stood on the site since before the Oakway Center shopping center was built. 

]]>
U2 Joshua Tree Plaque http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/u2-joshua-tree-plaque http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/u2-joshua-tree-plaque 2017-09-22 23:04:10.314310 U2 Joshua Tree Plaque U2 Joshua Tree Plaque

Photo submitted by U2.

Plaque created by Ernie Navarre.

Articles about the plaque are here, here, and here.

]]>
The Cook Family http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-cook-family http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-cook-family 2017-09-22 22:54:38.218400 The Cook Family The Cook Family

Volunteers 
Make a Difference 
The Cook Family 
Dan & Nedra    Mike & Jeneil 
Kenny & Jess

]]>
Spenger's Fish Grotto http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/spenger-s-fish-grotto2 http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/spenger-s-fish-grotto2 2017-09-22 22:53:38.513750 Spenger's Fish Grotto Spenger's Fish Grotto

SPENGER'S FISH GROTTO 
CENTENARY PLAQUE 
1890 - 1990 
1865 
JOHANN BUILDS HIS HOME, ONE ROOM COUNTRY STORE 
AND FISH MARKET AT THIS SITE. 
1930'S 
FRANK, HIS WIFE MARCELLA AND SON FRANK (BUD) 
EXPAND TO PRESENT DAY RESTAURANT AND FISH MARKET. 
1990 
FRANK (SPANKY), FOURTH GENERATION OF SPENGER 
FAMILY IN AMERICA, CONTINUES FAMILY TRADITION 
THROUGH CENTENARY YEAR. 
AVE SPENGER! COENATURI TE SALUTAMUS!
DEDICATED APRIL 7, 1990 
JOAUQUIN MURRIETA, CHAPTER 13 
E. CLAMPUS VITUS 

]]>
St. Ann Catholic Church http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/st-ann-catholic-church http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/st-ann-catholic-church 2017-09-22 22:50:07.916150 St. Ann Catholic Church St. Ann Catholic Church

On Christmas Eve 1949, parishioner John Maher buried a statue of the Infant Jesus of Prague on this site and hopeful Catholics from the area began fund-raising efforts to build the first Catholic church in Bartlett. Within one year the site was purchased for $5,000. While construction progressed, services were held in a store at what is now Stage Road and Court Street. The church building was dedicated on October 19, 1952. In recognition of a gift from Bishop William O'Brien, the church was named "St. Ann" in honor of his sister Anna O'Brien of Chicago, Illinois. It was built of red brick, in a vernacular style of the period. (continued on other side) In 1955 Father Leonard Oglesby was assigned as St. Ann's first full-time pastor. During his 26-year tenure, a kindergarten and an elementary school were opened and the small rural parish grew into one of the largest in West Tennessee. To accommodate growth, a new church building was erected in 1969, that building was renamed "The St. Joachim Chapel" and, following renovations, was returned to use for religious services. St. Joachim was so honored because he and St. Ann were the parents of Mary, the mother of Jesus.

Submitted from the Shelby County Register's Office.

]]>
Statuary At The Shelby County Courthouse http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/statuary-at-the-shelby-county-courthouse http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/statuary-at-the-shelby-county-courthouse 2017-09-22 22:49:00.910260 Statuary At The Shelby County Courthouse Statuary At The Shelby County Courthouse

Exterior statuary at the Shelby County Courthouse includes, most prominently, six seated figures carved from single blocks of Tennessee marble, representing Wisdom, Justice, Liberty, Authority, Peace, and Prosperity. Near the top of the north facade are six standing figures: Prudence, Courage, Integrity, Learning, Mercy, and Temperance. Pediments above the Second Street, Adams Avenue, and Third Street entrances are decorated with carved scenes depicting religious law, Roman law, statutory law, common law, civil law, and criminal law. At the apex of (Continued on other side) each of these pediments is the head of Minerva, Roman goddess of wisdom. Since 1921 the south corridor has featured a bust of President Andrew Jackson, one of the founders of Memphis. Sculpted by John Frazee from life in 1835, the bust was purchased by the City in 1858 and originally placed in Court Square two blocks southwest of this site. The bust features at its base the words of Jackson's famous toast: "Our Federal Union! It must and shall be preserved!" This inscription was defaced during the Civil War but, like the Union itself, was soon restored.

Submitted from the Shelby County Register's Office.

]]>