Read The Plaque https://readtheplaque.com Always read the plaque en-us Robie Street Reservoir https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/robie-street-reservoir https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/robie-street-reservoir 2018-01-22 23:41:18.802410 Robie Street Reservoir Robie Street Reservoir

National Historic Civil Engineering Site

Robie Street Reservoir

The 48 m diameter x 7.5 m deep concrete reservoir was originally build in 1913. It was one of the few structures in the area to survive the Halifax Explosion in 1917, less than 1 km away. Deterioration to the walls and roof required extensive rehabilitation in 1946. The roof was replaced using a prestressed concrete ring beam and gunite construction, and the walls were extensively repaired. At the time, the roof replacement was the largest prestressed dome in the world. The creative design-build engineering solution was one of the earliest uses of prestressed concrete in Canada involving specialized construction techniques and materials. The reservoir was designated a landmark by the American Water Works Association in 1983. 

The prestressed dome roof was replaced in 1999 by a lightweight aluminum geodesic dome. 

Canadian Society for Civil Engineering 2014

]]>
Lorraine Hansberry https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/lorraine-hansberry https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/lorraine-hansberry 2018-01-22 22:38:54.481380 Lorraine Hansberry Lorraine Hansberry

Lorraine Vivian Hansberry

May 19, 1930 – January 12, 1965

The first African America woman to write a play performed on Broadway, Lorraine Vivian Hansberry bought her Greenwich Village home in 1960. Best known for A Raisin in the Sun about living under racial segregation in Chicago, the title came from Langston Hughes’ poem Harlem. Her family was involved in civil rights, prompting the Supreme Court case Hansberry v. Lee. She moved to NYC in 1950, attended the New School and wrote for Paul Robeson’s Pan-Africanist newspaper Freedom. In 1953 she married producer Robert Nemiroff, a champion of her works as her literary executor. She was involved with the country’s first lesbian political organization, The Daughters of Bilitis, contributing two letters to their magazine The Ladder. Her political engagement drew the attention and surveillance of the FBI. She inspired Nina Simone's song To Be Young, Gifted and Black.

 

Submitted by Greenwich Village Society for Historic Preservation, www.gvshp.org

]]>
The Penny Farthing https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-penny-farthing https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-penny-farthing 2018-01-22 17:39:00.002860 The Penny Farthing The Penny Farthing

The Penny. Where a young Joni Mitchell get her start. 




Submitted by @ScenesFromACity

]]>
William J. Battle, Professor of Latin and Greek https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/william-j-battle-professor-of-latin-and-greek https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/william-j-battle-professor-of-latin-and-greek 2018-01-22 17:36:36.397840 William J. Battle, Professor of Latin and Greek William J. Battle, Professor of Latin and Greek


Submitted by @pkmonaghan

]]>
Arnold Bakery https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/arnold-bakery https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/arnold-bakery 2018-01-22 17:35:09.100960 Arnold Bakery Arnold Bakery


Submitted by @pkmonaghan

]]>
Hugo Reid Adobe CHL# 368 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/hugo-reid-adobe-chl-368 https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/hugo-reid-adobe-chl-368 2018-01-22 16:32:16.606250 Hugo Reid Adobe CHL# 368 Hugo Reid Adobe CHL# 368

From the Flickr group Historical Markers, photo by tkksummers, full page.

License is Attribution-ShareAlike License

]]>
NEWHALL - Western Walk of Stars https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/newhall-western-walk-of-stars https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/newhall-western-walk-of-stars 2018-01-22 16:18:11.012210 NEWHALL - Western Walk of Stars NEWHALL - Western Walk of Stars

From the Flickr group Historical Markers, photo by tkksummers, full page.

License is Attribution-ShareAlike License

]]> Rue du Bac Plaques https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/rue-du-bac-plaques https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/rue-du-bac-plaques 2018-01-22 16:17:46.513370 Rue du Bac Plaques Rue du Bac Plaques

[Location approximate]






Submitted by @Eric_Anceau

]]>
Livermore War Memorials https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/livermore-war-memorials https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/livermore-war-memorials 2018-01-22 16:15:33.706480 Livermore War Memorials Livermore War Memorials






Submitted by @jqmcd

]]>
Honoring the Farmers of the Puyallup Valley https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/honoring-the-farmers-of-the-puyallup-valley https://readtheplaque.com/plaque/honoring-the-farmers-of-the-puyallup-valley 2018-01-22 16:14:06.313550 Honoring the Farmers of the Puyallup Valley Honoring the Farmers of the Puyallup Valley

]]>