Read The Plaque http://read-the-plaque.appspot.com Always read the plaque en-us John Denver Memorial http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/john-denver-memorial http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/john-denver-memorial 2017-03-30 03:13:40.695200 John Denver Memorial  John Denver Memorial

]]>
Gilman Hall http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/gilman-hall http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/gilman-hall 2017-03-29 20:27:38.428930 Gilman Hall Gilman Hall

Gilman Hall was built in 1916-17 to accommodate
an expanded College of Chemistry under the leader-
ship of Gilbert Newton Lewis. This building provided
research laboratories and teaching facilities for
faculty and students specializing in physical,
inorganic, and nuclear chemistry. Work here by
G. N. Lewis and K. S. Pitzer helped advance the fields
of chemical thermodynamics and molecular struc-
ture. Research performed in Gilman Hall has
resulted in two Nobel Prizes: to William F. Giauque
in 1949 for his studies on the behavior of
substances at extremely low temperatures, and to
Glenn T. Seaborg in 1951 for discoveries in the
chemistry of the transuranium elements. Four other
individuals who did research here subsequently
received Nobel Prizes. 

 

]]>
Dedicated to John Le Conte & Joseph Le Conte http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/dedicated-to-john-le-conte-joseph-le-conte http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/dedicated-to-john-le-conte-joseph-le-conte 2017-03-29 18:04:15.402180 Dedicated to John Le Conte & Joseph Le Conte Dedicated to John Le Conte & Joseph Le Conte

]]>
Dedicated to Henry Morse Stephens http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/dedicated-to-henry-morse-stephens http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/dedicated-to-henry-morse-stephens 2017-03-29 18:00:05.097760 Dedicated to Henry Morse Stephens Dedicated to Henry Morse Stephens

]]>
Manzanar http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/manzanar http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/manzanar 2017-03-29 17:05:12.872170 Manzanar Manzanar

Manzanar

In the early part of World War II, 110,000 persons
of Japanese ancestry were interned in relocation
centers by Executive Order No. 9066, issued on
February 19, 1942.

Manzanar, the first of ten such concentration
camps, was bounded by barbed wire and guard
towers, confining 10,000 persons, the majority
being American citizens.

May the injustices and humiliation suffered here
as a result of hysteria, racism and economic
exploitation never emerge again.

Photo courtesy  , who made this episode of 99% Invisible

]]>
Folsom Pony Express Terminus http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/folsom-pony-express-terminus http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/folsom-pony-express-terminus 2017-03-28 22:28:37.731740 Folsom Pony Express Terminus Folsom Pony Express Terminus

FOLSOM PONY EXPRESS TERMINUS

GOLD RUSH AND RAILROAD TOWN FOLSOM BECAME THE
WESTERN TERMINUS OF THE CENTRAL OVERLAND PONY
EXPRESS ON JULY 1, 1860. DURING ITS FIRST FEW MONTHS,
AFTER APRIL 4, 1860, THE EXPRESS MAIL HAD BEEN
RUN BY PONY TO AND FROM SACRAMENTO. BEGINNING
ON JULY 1, 1860, THE SACRAMENTO VALLEY RAILROAD
CARRIED IT BETWEEN SACRAMENTO AND FOLSOM
UNTIL PLACERVILLE WAS MADE THE TERMINUS DURING
JULY 1 - OCTOBER 26, 1861.

 

]]>
The Oldest Wood School in the USA http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-oldest-wood-school-in-the-usa http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-oldest-wood-school-in-the-usa 2017-03-26 02:47:06.969640 The Oldest Wood School in the USA The Oldest Wood School in the USA

]]>
St. Augustine Slave Market http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/st-augustine-slave-market http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/st-augustine-slave-market 2017-03-26 02:39:01.072370 St. Augustine Slave Market St. Augustine Slave Market

]]>
Public Well http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/public-well http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/public-well 2017-03-26 02:37:55.731370 Public Well Public Well

The well was used from 1823 to the early 1880's. The remnants lay buried and forgotten until City of St. Augustine Public Works employees discovered the well, with assistance from the St. Augustine Archaeological Association, while renovating the historic Plaza de las Constitucion in 1995. The well was reconstructed using archaeological data and an 1879 photograph.

]]>
Espinosa-Sanchez House http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/espinosa-sanchez-house http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/espinosa-sanchez-house 2017-03-26 02:35:48.306010 Espinosa-Sanchez House Espinosa-Sanchez House

]]>